You are here

Award Winning Children's Books

The Association For Library Service to Children have released their 2018 award winning books!  The full list of award winners and honors can be found here

At the library, the books that have been awarded the Newbery and Caldecott Awards have been labeled with stickers for easy searching within the shelves.  

  The John Newbery Medal is given to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

The 2018 Newbery Medal has been awarded to Hello Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly

2018 Newbery Honor Books:

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut by Derrick Barnes

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds

Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson

The Randolph Caldecott Medal is given to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.  

The 2018 Caldecott Medal has been awarded to Wolf in the Snow by Matthew Cordell.

2018 Caldecott Honor Books:

Big Cat, Little Cat by Elisha Cooper

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut by Gordon C. James

A Different Pond by Thi Bui

Grand Canyon by Jason Chin