Fox River Valley Public Library District Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees November 5, 2020

MINUTES

President Corbett read the following statement into the meeting:

This meeting of the Fox River Valley Public Library District Board of Trustees will be held without a quorum of Trustees physically present but is authorized by the Governor of Illinois pursuant to Covid-19 Executive Order #5 dated March 16, 2020, as well as the Governor's Emergency Administrative Act dated June 12, 2020. As Board President I have determined an in-person meeting is not prudent at this time due to the corona virus pandemic that the Governor has declared an emergency. A verbatim recording of this meeting will be made available to the public. In addition, Library Director Lauren Rosenthal is physically present at the Library for this meeting.

Corbett then polled all in attendance to ensure they could clearly hear the proceedings, and read the following previously posted notice into the Minutes:

PUBLIC NOTICE

Due to current public health concerns and extension of the Governor's stay-at-home mandate by Executive Order 2020-33, this meeting is being conducted electronically. Anyone wishing to observe and/or comment must email LibraryBoard@frvpld.info no later than 12 pm on Thursday, November 5, and will receive online access to the meeting. If you do not have electronic access and would like to make a public statement you can call the library at 847-428-3661 before 5 pm on Thursday, November 5 and leave a message, indicating that you would like your message to be read into the record during the "Public Comment" section of the meeting. A recording of this meeting will be available on the library's website by Friday, November 13.

The meeting was called to order by President Richard Corbett at 7:04 PM. All present rose to recite the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll Call

Members present electronically: President Richard Corbett

Vice Pres Kristina Weber
Treasurer Brian Lindholm
Secretary Nikki Kuhlman
Trustee Mike Tennis

Trustee Chris Evans (arrived 7:07 PM)

Trustee Dave Nutt

Members absent: none

Others present electronically: Director Lauren Rosenthal, Assistant Director Heather Zabski, Roxane Bennett,

Kirstin Finneran, Monica Boyer, Keri Carroll, Jason Katsion, John Sabala, Karin

Nelson, Michael Lorenzetti, Brittany Berger, Karen Werle

Public Comment

Corbett inquired if there were any virtual participants wishing to comment, or if any telephone or email messages had been received. Rosenthal reported there were none.

New Business

Exhibit C.1 Approve the Employment Agreement for Interim Director

Corbett noted current Fox River Valley Public Library District Director Lauren Rosenthal will be leaving the Library for a new opportunity on December 11, 2020. The Board and staff wish her well in this new endeavor. Former Director Roxane Bennett was approached for the Interim Director position while the Board conducts an extensive search for a permanent Library Director. Bennett served Fox River Valley Public Library District exceptionally well for 10 years prior to her retirement. Corbett stated she is a proven leader and has earned the trust of the Library Board, who has determined she is the right person to take on the Interim Director assignment. He then called for a motion from Vice President and Personnel Liaison Kristina Weber to APPROVE THE EMPLOYMENT AGREEMENT WITH ROXANE BENNETT TO SERVE AS INTERIM LIBRARY DIRECTOR EFFECTIVE DECEMBER 12, 2020 AT \$10,500 PER MONTH UNTIL A PERMANENT DIRECTOR IS FOUND. Moved by Weber and seconded by Kuhlman, item opened for discussion.

Discussion ensued on the upcoming renovation to the Dundee Library and concerns about seamless leadership as the project may be lengthy. Bennett addressed the Board on her commitment to the Library District and noted she did not anticipate any circumstance under which she would leave the Interim Director position prematurely. Corbett stated the Board would discuss the permanent Director search at the November 17, 2020 meeting and called for a roll call vote.

Roll Call Vote: Nutt, Evans, Tennis, Lindholm, Kuhlman, Weber, Corbett – aye. 7 ayes, 0 nays, 0 absent. Motion carried.

There being no further business to discuss, Corbett called for a motion to ADJOURN. Moved by Nutt and seconded by Evans, he called for a roll call vote.

Roll Call Vote: Nutt, Evans, Tennis, Lindholm, Kuhlman, Weber, Corbett – aye. 7 ayes, 0 nays, 0 absent. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 7:23 PM.	
Nikki S. Kuhlman, Secretary	•