You are here


Join us on Tuesday June 26th from 7 to 8 pm for a fascinating behind-the-scenes look at how a historical mystery series is created. Author Victoria Thompson will discuss her bestselling Gaslight Mysteries, set during New York City’s Gilded Age. Books will be available for purchase, or bring your own copies for her to sign! In preparation for her visit, check out some of the following titles, which are available in many formats: hard cover, paperback, large print, audio book, and digital.

19th Century Manhattan Skyline -- From:

Gaslight Mysteries

Escape to a different era, when gaslight illuminated New York City’s most famous streets and the Victorian Age evolved into the twentieth century. The series begins when Sarah Brandt, a midwife, reluctantly joins forces with police detective Frank Malloy to solve a murder within one of New York’s wealthiest families. Malloy has been removed from the case and Sarah, long estranged from her upper class family, knows what it will cost her to get involved.

To locate or place holds on any of the following titles, please click through the link above. (A complete list of titles is available in the Victoria Thompson display on the library's main level.) 

The titles, in order, are:

Murder on Astor Place

Murder on Astor Place

Murder on St. Mark’s Place

Murder on Gramercy Park

Murder on Washington Square

Murder on Washington Square

Murder on Mulberry Bend

Murder on Marble Row

Murder on Lenox Hill

Murder on Lenox Hill

Murder in Little Italy

Murder in Chinatown

Murder on Bank Street

Murder on Bank Street : a gaslight mystery

Murder on Waverly Place

Murder on Lexington Avenue

Murder on Sisters’ Row

Murder on Sisters' Row

Murder on Fifth Avenue

Murder in Chelsea

Murder in Chelsea

Murder in Murray Hill

Murder on Amsterdam Avenue

Murder on St. Nicholas Avenue

Murder in Morningside Heights

Murder in Morningside Heights : a gaslight mystery

Murder in the Bowery

Murder on Union Square                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  This is the newest title in the series: published on May 1, 2018

Murder on Union Square

Victoria Thompson also has a new series: Counterfeit Lady, which promises to be just as enjoyable.

The first title, City of Lies, blends romance and suspense as a confidence woman tries to evade her pursuers in Washington D.C. and New York City during World War I.

City of Lies

City of lies

Come to the Information Desk for more suggestions to keep you reading, and to register for Victoria Thompson – Author Visit. You may also register by calling 847-428-3661 (press 3) or directly at

Summer reading registration is also available at the Information Desk!

Happy Reading!